2011 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award

Printer-friendly version

3 Irish Authors short listed for the 2011 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award. The short list will be confirmed by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Gerry Breen on April 12th, 2011 at 11.00am

The shortlist of 10 titles was selected from a total of 162 novels nominated by 166 public library systems in 126 cities worldwide and includes Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann, Brooklyn by Colm Toibín and Love and Summer by William Trevor. The International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award is the world’s most prestigious literary prize nominated by public libraries world-wide.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin Gerry Breen, Patron of the Award, officially confirmed the titles on this year’s shortlist, nominated by public libraries in Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, England, Germany, Greece, Ireland, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Scotland, South Africa, Switzerland, and the USA.

 The short listed titles are:

  • Galore by Michael Crummey (Canadian). Doubleday Canada
  • The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (American). Faber & Faber, HarperCollins, USA
  • The Vagrants by Yiyn Li  (Chinese / American) Random House, USA
  • Ransom by David Malouf  (Australian) Random House Australia
  • Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (Irish) Bloomsbury, UK, Random House, USA
  • Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates  (American) Ecco Press, USA
  • Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey  (Australian) Allen & Unwin
  • Brooklyn by Colm Toibín (Irish) Viking UK, Scribner, USA
  • Love and Summer by William Trevor (Irish) Viking, UK
  • After the Fire, a Still, Small Voice by Evie Wyld (Australian) Pantheon Books, USA 
  • Three Australian authors have been short listed – David Malouf, Craig Silvey and Evie Wyld.
  • The 2011 shortlist is a mix of big  international names e.g. Barbara Kingsolver, Joyce Carol Oates and David Malouf, and  relative new comers such as Evie Wyld, Craig Silvey and Yiyun Li
  • Both David Malouf (Remembering Babylon) and Colm Toibín (The Master) are previous winners of the award in 1996 and 2006 respectively. In all there are 5 previous winners on the 2011 long list. The others are Orhan Pamuk, Tahar Ben Jalloun and Javier Marias

The five member judging panel, chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner which will be announced by The Patron of the Award, the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Gerry Breen on Wednesday, 15th June 2011.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is managed by Dublin City Libraries, on behalf of Dublin City Council. It is sponsored by IMPAC, an international management productivity company with its European headquarters in Dublin.

The Award is presented annually with the objective of promoting excellence in world literature. It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or English translation in the specified time period as outlined in the rules and conditions for the year. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world.

All the novels nominated can be viewed on www.impacdublinaward.ie

Recent previous winners of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award  include:

The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (2010) Man Gone Down by Michael Thomas (2009), De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage (2008),  and Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (2007)


 The judges are:

  • John Boyne was born in Dublin in 1971. He is the author of 8 novels, including the international bestsellers Mutiny On The Bounty, The House of Special Purpose and The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas, His books are published in over 40 languages.
  • Susan Bassnett is a writer and professor of comparative literature at the University of Warwick. She is the author of over 20 books, which include translations, collections of her poetry,and academic writing. Recent publications include a study of Ted Hughes(2009)and a co-authored book on translation and global news (2010).
  •  Tessa Hadley has written three novels: Accidents in the Home, (2002) 2002, (long listed for the Guardian First Book award); Everything Will Be All Right, (2003) and The Master Bedroom, (2007). A new novel, The London Train, will be out in January 2011. She reviews for The London Review of Books and The Guardian. Tessa is a Senior Lecturer in English and Creative Studies at Bath Spa University.
  • Nancy Huston was born in Calgary, Alberta in 1953 and has been living in Paris since 1973. She writes both fiction and non-fiction, in both French and English, translating herself in both directions. Fault Lines, her eleventh novel, won France's Prix Femina, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, and has been translated into over thirty languages.
  • Michael Hofmann was born in Freiburg, Germany, in 1957, and moved to England in 1961. Since 1983, he has been a freelance writer and reviewer. In 1993, he was offered a teaching post at the University of Florida in Gainesville. He is the author of four books of poems and a Selected Poems, a book of criticism called Behind the Lines, and the translator of many German authors, In 1998, his translation of Herta Müller’s The Land of Green Plums won the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.
  • Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, is a former Chief Judge of a US Court of Appeals and brings a wealth of experience from sixteen years on the bench. His first novel, The Majority Rules, was published in 2005.  The second novel of his political thriller trilogy, The Report to the Judiciary, was published in 2008. Judge Sullivan is currently a senior partner in Freeh Group International, a global consultant group of former judges based in Washington DC: Wilmington, Delaware; London and Rome.

For more information

Literary Award Office, Dublin City Libraries 01 6744802/1