LBH029 Gilbert Library
LBH029 The Gilbert Library, Pearse Street, 1990s
In 1900 Dublin Corporation bought the collection of Sir John T. Gilbert for the sum of £2,500. This collection consisted of manuscripts and books relating to the history of Dublin. In 1901 Douglas Hyde was commissioned to prepare a catalogue of the Gilbert collection. The printed catalogue that was co-edited by Hyde and D.J. O’Donoghue was published in 1918. The Gilbert collection was initially housed at the Charleville Mall branch but was relocated to Pearse Street library where it was opened to the public in 1933. The Gilbert Library was refurbished when it became a constituent part of the Dublin City Library & Archive, Pearse Street in 2003.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin in the second half of the twentieth century.