Borrow the Costa Book Award 2017 winners

Printer-friendly version

Reservoir 13Jon McGregor, who won the International Dublin Literary Award in 2012 for Even the Dogs, has won the Costa (fiction) Award for his fourth novel, 'Reservoir 13'. Also among the winners is a book that needs no introduction as everyone is either talking about, reading or trying to get their hands on it - Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. This book is proving immensely popular with readers in our libraries.  Rebecca Stott’s rivetting father daughter book about growing up in a fundamental Christian cult, the Exclusive Brethren won in the Biography section, while Helen Dunmore, who sadly passed away last June, is the posthumous winner of the Poetry award.  The children's book award went to The Explorer by Katherine Rundell, the story of four children's struggle to survive in the Amazon following a plane crash.  Katherine previously won acclaim (and awards) with her novel Rooftoppers (2013).

The Costa Award category winners with links to the library catalogue:

  • Costa First Novel Award: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman (HarperCollins)
  • Costa Novel Award: Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor (4th Estate)
  • Costa Biography Award: In the Days of Rain by Rebecca Stott (4th Estate)
  • Costa Poetry Award: Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore (Bloodaxe Books) (Update 31st January: Inside the Wave is the Costa Book of the Year 2017)
  • Costa Children's Book Award: The Explorer by Katherine Rundell (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)

Eleanor OliphantIn the Days of RainInside the WaveThe Explorer

The books are also available as eBooks

"The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland." (Award website)

Costa Book Awards logo


The Costa Book of the Year 2017 is Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore

Add new comment