Dublin City Council honours Councillor killed in the 1916 Rising

At 6p.m. on Tuesday 26th April 2016, Ardmhéara Críona Ní Dhálaigh will unveil a plaque to honour the memory of Councillor Richard O’Carroll in the renamed ‘Richard O’Carroll Room’ in City Hall.

Councillor O’Carroll was the only elected member of Dublin City Council to be killed fighting in the 1916 Rising.

Speaking about the ceremony, Ardmhéara Críona Ní Dhálaigh said “I am honoured to unveil this plaque and rename the Member’s Room to commemorate Councillor Richard O’Carroll. A children’s rights advocate, trade unionist, Councillor and Dubliner at heart, he sought to better the fortunes of ordinary Irish men, women and children. I am delighted that he and other Councillors who were active in the 1916 Rising will be remembered daily in City Hall. I commend the family of Richard O’Carroll and the staff of Dublin City Public Libraries for their work on this project. Tá fíor áthas orm go mbeidh sé go buan i gcuimhne na ndaoine i Halla na Cathrach. Tréaslaím muintir Richard O’Carroll agus foireann na Leabharlanna i gComhairle Cathrach Bhaile Átha Cliath as ucht an dea-obair a rinne siad ar an tionscnamh seo."


Richard O’Carroll was born in Dublin in 1876. He was an active trade unionist and a founding member of the Dublin Labour Party. He was elected to Dublin City Council in 1907.

During the 1916 Rising Richard O’Carroll was a member of the 2nd Battalion of the Irish Volunteers, and was stationed in Camden Street, an outpost of the garrison at Jacob’s Factory. On Wednesday 26 April, O’Carroll was flushed out of his position and was disarmed by a British army patrol under Captain J.C. Bowen-Colthurst. O’Carroll was asked at gun-point if he was a ‘Sinn Féiner’ and he answered ‘from the backbone out’ whereupon Bowen-Colthurst shot him through the chest. He was left where he fell and was rescued by a passing bread-van which brought him to Portobello Military Hospital, where after nine days of great suffering he died on 5th May 1916.

In a separate ceremony, a plaque will be unveiled at 12 noon on Wednesday 27th April at O’Carroll Villas (this flat complex was named in his honour), Cuffe Street, Dublin 2. Prior to his death in 1916 Councillor O’Carroll resided in the area and worked as General Secretary of the Ancient Guild of Incorporated Brick and Stonelayer’s Trade Union. The Union’s Guild Hall was located at Number 49 Cuffe Street (this building no longer exists).

Dublin City Council has an extensive programme of events to commemorate 1916 full details are at http://www.dublincity.ie/decadeofcommemorations and are available in branch libraries.


For further information contact:

Dublin City Council Media Relations Office T. (01) 222 2170, M. 087 740 0277


Notes to the Editor:

The plaque was made in Dublin by CAST Foundry.

Text of plaque to be erected in City Hall:


  • In commemoration of Councillor Richard O’Carroll,
  • Labour Party Member, Dublin City Council
  • Fought with Irish Volunteers, Jacob’s Factory Garrison, Easter Rising 1916
  • Shot while disarmed and mortally wounded by
  • Captain J.C. Bowen-Colthurst, 26 April 1916
  • Councillor O’Carroll died from his wounds, 5 May 1916
  • Also in commemoration of the following elected members of Dublin City Council:
  • Combatants Easter Rising 1916
  • Councillor William T. Cosgrave, Sinn Féin
  • Councillor Sean T. O Ceallaigh, Sinn Féin
  • Councillor William P. Partridge, Labour Party
  • Arrested and imprisoned following Easter Rising 1916
  • Alderman Thomas Kelly, Sinn Féin
  • Alderman Laurence O’Neill, Independent
  • Councillor Patrick T. Daly, Labour Party
  • Councillor Patrick V. Mahon, Sinn Féin



  • Mar chomóradh ar an gComhairleoir Richard O'Carroll,
  • ball de Pháirtí an Lucht Oibre, Comhairle Cathrach Bhaile Átha Cliath
  • Throid sé le hÓglaigh na hÉireann, Garastún Mhonarcha Jacob, Éirí Amach na Cásca 1916
  • Chaith an Captaen J.C. Bowen-Colthurst é,
  • agus ghoin go marfach é agus é gan arm, an 26 Aibreán 1916
  • Fuair an Comhairleoir O'Carroll bás óna chuid créachtaí an 5 Bealtaine 1916
  • Mar chomóradh freisin ar na baill thofa seo a leanas de Chomhairle Cathrach Bhaile Átha Cliath:
  • Iad siúd a throid in Éirí Amach na Cásca 1916
  • An Comhairleoir William T. Cosgrave, Sinn Féin
  • An Comhairleoir Seán T. Ó Ceallaigh, Sinn Féin
  • An Comhairleoir William P. Partridge, Pairtí an Lucht Oibre
  • Iad siúd a gabhadh agus a cuireadh i bpríosún i ndiaidh Éirí Amach na Cásca 1916
  • An Bardasach Thomas Kelly, Sinn Féin
  • An Bardasach Laurence O’Neill, Neamhspleách
  • An Comhairleoir Patrick T. Daly, Pairtí an Lucht Oibre
  • An Comhairleoir Patrick V. Mahon, Sinn Féin