Dublin Liffey Swim – tomorrow! #liffeyswim95

The 95th Liffey Swim takes place tomorrow Saturday 13th September. Supported by Dublin City Council and organised by Leinster Open Sea Committee, the race offers the public the unique spectacle of swimmers powering their way along a 2.2km stretch of Dublin’s River Liffey.
The men’s race starts at 1.15pm and the women’s at 2.15pm, both at the Rory O’More Bridge near Watling St. The race will take in some of Dublin’s wonderful bridges including The James Joyce Bridge, the Ha’penny Bridge, O’Connell Bridge and the new Rosie Hackett Bridge. Both races finish at Loopline Bride, Custom House Quay, about 30 minutes after their respective starts.
Dublin’s Lord Mayor Christy Burke will start the races and afterwards present the winners’ prizes on North Wall Quay at 4pm. He says “The Liffey Swim is a wonderful part of the city’s sporting and social history. I would like to congratulate the 361 swimmers who have qualified to take part in the 95th Liffey Swim. I would also encourage the public to come in and enjoy a wonderful occasion on Dublin City Council’s year-round calendar of events.”
Gus Cooney Event Manager for the 95th Dublin City Liffey Swim says “We are delighted with the record number of swimmers who will be competing in the 95th Dublin City Liffey Swim. This reflects the continued popularity of Open Sea Swimming in Dublin and we look forward to the 100th Dublin City Liffey Swim in 2019. Special thanks to the Lord Mayor of Dublin Christy Burke, Dublin City Council (Events Unit), Dublin Fire Brigade and Dublin Civil Defence for their support of the annual Liffey Swim.”
For all media queries and interviews on the 2014 Liffey Swim please contact:
Dublin City Council Media Relations Office Tel: 01 2222170/087 7400277
Eoin Gaffney, Leinster Open Swim Committee: 087 662 4375
This year’s participants
361 swimmers will take place in this year’s Liffey Swim, 252 men and 109 women.
Race Route
The route is from Rory O’Moore Bridge (near Watling St) to Custom House Quay swimming under the following bridges - Rory O’Moore Bridge, James Joyce Bridge, Mellows Bridge, Father Mathew Bridge, O’Donovan Rossa Bridge, Grattan Bridge, Millennium Bridge, Ha’penny Bridge, O’Connell Bridge, Rosie Hackett Bridge, Butt Bridge and Loopline Bridge.