Dublin says ‘Thank You’ - Lord Mayor’s Awards 2011

Printer-friendly version

The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Gerry Breen, hosts the 2011 Lord Mayor’s Awards in the Round Room of the Mansion House, Dawson Street, on Monday 30th May, at 6.30pm.

An annual event since 1989, this award ceremony honours individuals and groups who have made a special contribution to Dublin. It is Dublin’s way of saying ‘thank you’ to the people who make a difference.

The Lord Mayor said “For 2011 we have six worthy recipients from very different strands of Dublin life.  These awards recognise their achievements and their contribution to Dublin and I would like to congratulate them all.”

For the first time ever in the history of these Awards Lord Mayor Breen called for public nominations for recipients. “Sixty-six nominations were received and I would like to thank everyone who submitted nominations for an Award. I hope you will agree that the chosen recipients are deserving of this recognition” the Lord Mayor said

The Lord Mayor’s Award 2011 recipients are: Neil McCabe, Dublin Marathon, Tom Coffey, Imelda May, Pat Liddy and the Irish Kidney Association.



For more information

For further information please contact:

Dublin City Council Press Office (01) 2222107

Lord Mayor of Dublin Gerry Breen 087 256 7811


Notes to the Editor


Neil McCabe

Neil has introduced many green initiatives in his work as a Fire Fighter in Dublin Fire Brigade, most notably, the Green Plan for Kilbarrack Fire Station.  As a result of the plan, Kilbarrack station is now the worlds first Carbon Neutral Fire Station and following its success Neil has been tasked with implementing similar changes across other fire stations.

Dublin Marathon

This is the thirty second year of the Dublin Marathon. The race owes its existence to the vision of one of Ireland’s great athletes, Noel Carroll and the many volunteers who are involved each year.  The popularity of the Marathon has grown since the first race which took place in 1980 and had 1,200 runners to a record 13,500 athletes in 2010.

Eugene Coppinger will collect the Award on behalf of Dublin Marathon.

Tom Coffey

Tom is Chief Executive of Dublin City Business Association (DCBA), one of Ireland’s leading retail federations.  DCBA works on behalf of its members with local and national governments to ensure Dublin city is accessible and offers attractive retail and leisure choices to customers and visitors.  DCBA members employ approximately 25,000 people and generate an annual turnover of about €1.5 billion.

Imelda May

From a young age Imelda was influenced by artists such as Elvis, Eddie Cochran and Billie Holiday.  In 2006 she formed her own band and set about writing a series of original songs. Her debut album ‘Love Tattoo’ was released in 2009 to critical acclaim and has gone platinum eight times in Ireland.  Last year saw the release of her second album ‘Mayhem’ which reached No. 1 in Ireland and has now gone three times platinum in Ireland and gold in the UK.

Pat Liddy

Pat has always been fascinated by the history, natural environment and architecture of Dublin, his native city.  He has written eight illustrated books and numerous booklets and articles which raise the general awareness of Dublin’s unique architectural and cultural heritage.  He is currently involved in a large walking tour company which brings thousands of visitors annually to the city and regularly leads historic walks in the popular Walk & Talk series, an initiative of Dublin City Council.

Irish Kidney Association

The Irish Kidney Association is a charitable voluntary organisation. It was formed in 1978, by patients for patients and their families. It meets the needs of patients and their families and carers, living with, or affected by, end-stage renal disease. The Association currently has in excess of three thousand members countrywide.

 Patricia May, Chairman of the Irish Kidney Association, will collect the Award on behalf of the Association.