Freedom of the City

Jim Gavin to be awarded Freedom of the City of Dublin by Dublin City Council. 

Jim Gavin is to be awarded the Honorary Freedom of the City of Dublin. Lord Mayor Paul Mc Auliffe’s nomination of Jim Gavin was co-signed by the Group Leaders in the Chamber and was warmly welcomed by all Councillors and subsequently ratified at this evening’s Dublin City Council meeting. The award of Freedom of the City of Dublin acknowledges the contribution of recipients to the life of Ireland’s capital city. It also bestows honour on important visitors to Dublin.   

Jim Gavin will join an illustrious list of Freemen and Freewomen including former US presidents John F. Kennedy and Bill Clinton, Nelson Mandela, Mother Teresa and former Dublin Football Manager Kevin Heffernan.  Fr Joseph Mallin SJ was the last person to be conferred with the Freedom of the City of Dublin in 2016.

Lord Mayor of Dublin Paul Mc Auliffe said, “I am honoured and privileged to propose Jim Gavin for Dublin City’s highest award, the Honorary Freedom of the City of Dublin.  He has led the Dublin team to an unprecedented 5-in-a-row Senior Gaelic Football Titles and his leadership both on and off the field has led to a positive culture in Dublin GAA.  I know Jim is a modest man and even after all he’s given, I’m asking him to take one for the team. I’m delighted to be able to acknowledge his contribution to public life and service to his county and country both on and off the pitch.”

Jim Gavin is an All-Ireland winning player and manager winning the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship as a player with Dublin in 1995 and leading the Dublin teams to the All-Ireland U21 Football Championship in 2010 and All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 2013 and from 2015 - 2019.

Amongst the ancient privileges afforded to a Freeman or Freewoman is the right to bring goods into Dublin through the city gates, without paying customs duties; the right to pasture sheep on common ground within the city boundaries; and the right to vote in municipal and parliamentary elections