Dublin City Local Community Development Committee

Printer-friendly version

Local Community Development Committee Logo

The Dublin City Local Community Development Committee was established in July 2014, in line with Government policy.  It is made up of representatives from Dublin City Council, other State agencies and social and economic partners (for a list of members please see below).  Support for the LCDC is provided by the Community and Social Development section in Dublin City Council.

The key functions of the LCDC include:

  • The preparation and implementation of the community element of the Dublin City Local Economic and Community Plan 2016 – 2021
  • Bringing a more joined-up approach to local and community development activity in the City
  • Co-ordinating and monitoring the Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP)

The Dublin City Local Economic and Community Plan 2016 – 2021 (LECP) was adopted by the Dublin City Council in December 2015. 

The LECP is made up of two documents:

  • A six-year strategy document setting out the 12 high-level goals for the lifetime of the Plan
  • An Action Plan for 2016 that will be up-dated annually

For further information on, or a copy of, the Dublin City Local Economic and Community Plan 2016 – 2021 please go to www.dublincity.ie\lecp  or email lecp@dublincity.ie

The Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP) aims to tackle poverty, social exclusion and unemployment through local engagement and partnership between individuals, community organisations and public sector agencies. 

It is funded nationally by the Irish Government and co-funded by the European Union.  It is delivered in five separate areas across Dublin City by five different organisations and is monitored by the Local Community Development Committee.

SICAP Areas and Programme Implementers

Dublin City

(click on each area to see detailed map)

SICAP Provider

Contact details

Ballyfermot / Chapelizod

Ballyfermot Chapelizod Partnership

01 623 5612


Ballymun / Whitehall / Tolka

Dublin North West Area Partnership

01 836 1666



Northside Partnership

01 848 5630


Canal / Rathmines / Pembroke

Dublin South City Partnership

01 473 2196


Inner City

Dublin City Community Co-op

www.dublincitycommunitycoop.ie and go to ‘Contact us’


For further information on the Dublin City Local Economic and Community Plan, please email lecp@dublincity.ie

Membership of the Dublin City Local Community Development Committee

Councillor Paul McAuliffe

Dublin City Council Elected Members:
Cllr Paul McAuliffe (Chair)
Cllr Daithí Doolan
Cllr Éilis Ryan
Cllr Dermot Lacey
Cllr Tina MacVeigh
Cllr Anthony Connaghan
Cllr Mannix Flynn (Observer)

Assistant Chief Executive Dublin City Council:
Brendan Kenny

Local Enterprise Office:
Greg Swift

State Agencies:
Martina Queally, Health Service Executive
David Treacy, City of Dublin Education and Training Board

Dublin City Public Participation Network:
Mel MacGiobúin (Social Inclusion)
Maria Tyrell (Social Inclusion)
Claire Wheeler (Environment)
Jan Mingle (Community and Voluntary)
Godfrey Chimbganda ( Community and Voluntary)
Vacancy (Community and Voluntary)

Dublin City Local Development Companies:
Anne Fitzgerald, Ballyfermot Chapelizod Partnership
Paul Rogers, Northside Partnership

Dublin Council of Trade Unions:
Darragh O’Connor, SIPTU

Other Social and Economic Interests:
Dr Deiric O’Broin, NorDubCo
Conor Hickey, Crosscare

For more information

Community & Social Development Department,
Dublin City Council,
Civic Offices,
Block 3, Floor 1,
Wood Quay,
Dublin 8,
D08 RF3F
Tel:  353 1 222 6704/2148
Email: lcdc@dublincity.ie