Lord Mayor’s Awards recipients honoured for their contribution to Irish Society

The recipients of the Lord Mayor’s Awards are:

  • Brendan Grace (Posthumous)
  • Panti Bliss
  • Colin Bell
  • Dublin Bus Travel Assistance Scheme
  • Greta Thunberg*
  • Dublin City Liffey Swim
  • Joe Hughes and Karen Phoenix

Speaking about the Awards Lord Mayor Paul Mc Auliffe said “One of the great things about being Lord Mayor is the opportunity it presents to confer awards on people who have made a major contribution to this city.  The Lord Mayor’s Awards are all about saying ‘thank you’ not only on my own behalf but on behalf of all the people of Dublin, to citizens who, through their ordinary everyday lives, enrich this city in an extraordinary way.  All are richly deserving of this award.  I applaud all of these people for the work they do that makes such a positive difference in the lives of others.”

An annual event since 1989, this award ceremony is an opportunity for the Lord Mayor to highlight and acknowledge, in a special way, achievements of both individuals and groups.

Previous winners of the Award include Jim Gavin, Imelda May, Maeve Binchy, Brian O’Driscoll, Jimmy Magee and Commander Chris Hadfield. 

* Due to previous commitments, Greta Thunberg will not be attending the Award Ceremony.  Irish children involved in the Friday’s for Future Climate Change marches in Dublin will collect the Award on her behalf.

Photographs will be syndicated to picture desks on the night by Conor McCabe Photography