Lord Mayor’s Coach on display on forecourt of Mansion House

On Saturday, 11th June, the Lord Mayor’s Ceremonial Coach will be on public display at the Mansion House, Dawson Street, Dublin 2 from 11:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Members of the public can view the coach and visit the public rooms in the Mansion House, the official residence of the Lord Mayor for over 300 years. Admission is free, no booking required.

For those who want to learn more about the coach, Dr. Philip McEvansoneya of Trinity College Dublin will give a talk in the Mansion House at 11:00 a.m. about the fascinating story behind its creation. Admission is free but booking is essential on lordmayor@dublincity.ie or call (01) 222 6200.

The coach dates back to 1791 when it was made by William Whitton of Dominick Street for use by the Lord Mayor of Dublin.  It cost £2,690, an enormous sum at the time and is a testament to the intricate and delicate work of Dublin craftsmanship.
Photos are available on request.

Ends

For Further Information please contact:

Lord Mayor’s Office T. (01) 222 6200
https://twitter.com/LordMayorDublin         
www.facebook.com/LordMayorDublin

 
Notes to the Editor:

The Lord Mayor’s Coach makes two annual appearances every year. It leads the St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Dublin on 17th March and it brings the Lord Mayor of Dublin to open the Dublin Horse Show at the RDS every August.
 
In 1975 Dublin Corporation restored the coach. The renovation was carried out by a team including a coach trimmer from Inchicore Railway Works as well as art conservators from the National Gallery and the National Museum.

The Lord Mayor’s coach dates back to 1791  The highly decorated coach is 24 feet long, 8 feet wide and 11 feet 6 inches high.  Its suspension was by whip springs and straps.

The coach made its first appearance on 4th November 1791 in the annual ceremonial procession that marked the birthday of King William III.  It was used for important occasions during its early years but from 1840 onwards, as politics changed in Dublin it appeared less frequently.  In 1932 it was used for the Eucharistic Congress and was then put into long term storage.  In 1975 Dublin Corporation (as it was then referred to) decided to restore the coach and it made its first reappearance in the 1976 St. Patrick’s

Feedback