Dublin City Council reduces new bridge names to 10

Printer-friendly version

Luminaries from the worlds of politics, sport, science and literature are included in a 10-name shortlist which Dublin City Council has announced for its new bridge over the Liffey at Marlborough Street Bridge.

Dublin City Council’s Commemorative Naming Committee reduced its original shortlist of 17 to 10 at its meeting today 12th June.

“The 17 suggestions on our shortlist followed a very successful public consultation process. It was a very high quality list with names and events which feature strongly in Irish history. The shortlist has generated huge interest and comment and I have no doubt this will continue until a final decision is made” says Councillor Dermot Lacey who chairs the committee.

The Committee will meet again on the 10th July to reduce the shortlist further to 5 names.  These 5 names will be put forward to the full City Council for final decision later this year.

For further information contact:

Shortlist names

  • Abbey Theatre Bridge
  • Bermingham, Willie
  • Connolly, James
  • Duff, Frank
  • Hackett, Rosie
  • Mills, Kay
  • Sigerson, George
  • Stoker, Bram
  • Walton, Ernest
  • Yeats, W.B.