Children's Book Awards

Printer-friendly version

CBI Book Awards

The CBI Awards are the only annual Children's Book Awards in Ireland. The Awards are made annually by Children's Books Ireland for books by an author or illustrator born or resident in Ireland. The Shortlist is announced in March and the Awards are announced in May for books published in the previous year.

The 2017 Book of the Year was awarded to Goodnight Everyone by Chris Haughton.

Other awards made:

  • Honour Award for Illustration: Goodnight Everyone by Chris Haughton
  • Honour Award for Fiction: Needlework by Deirdre O'Sullivan
  • Eilís Dillion Award for a First Children's Book: The Ministry of Strange, Unusual and Impossible Things by Paul Gamble
  • Judges' Special Award: Bliain na nAmhrán - Tadhg Mac Dhonnagáin, Jennifer Farley, Brian Fitzpatrick, Tarsila Krüse and Christina O’Donovan
  • Children's Choice Award: The Call by Peadar Ó Guilín

The shortlist of approximately 10 titles is normally announced, in March and the winners in late May/early June of each year.

The CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children.

Winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2016 One by Sarah Crossan.

Winner of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 The Sleeper and the Spindle, illustrated by Chris Riddell (written by Neil Gaiman).

The 2016 winners were announced on 20 June 2016.


Irish Books Awards

The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, which grew out of the Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year Prize, were established in 2006 to "acknowledge the wealth of talent in Irish literature".

  • 2016 Specsavers Irish Children’s Book of the Year Junior Category - Pigín Of Howth by Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs
  • 2016 Specsavers Irish Children's Book of the Year Senior Category - Knights of The Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

The winners are announced in November of each year.

Costa Children's Book of the Year

2016 Costa Children's Book Award Winner The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan

Judges: "Timely yet also hilariously funny, Bombs is a necessary take on modern life in extraordinary circumstances."

2016 Shortlist:

  • The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan
  • Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence
  • The Monstrous Child by Francesca Simon
  • Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

Winner is announced in January of each year for previous year.

Costa Award Website

Guardian Children's Fiction Prize

The Guardian children's fiction prize was founded in 1967. It is awarded annually to fiction written for children aged eight and above

2016 winner: Crongton Knights by Alex Wheatle

The winner is announced in October/November of each year.

Guardian Award website