Phase 2 Expansion of 30km/hr Slow Zones in Dublin City

Image of Citywide map

Dublin City Council introduced the further expansion of the 30km/hr speed limit zones in Dublin City on Wednesday 31st May 2017. The expansion will include certain urban areas and residential estates in the following locations: Sandymount, Crumlin, Dimnagh, Raheny, Artane, Donaghmede, Drumcondra, Phibsborough.

Please click here to view full size map of all areas.

Creating Calmer and Safer Communities

Dublin City Council announced the Phase 2 expansion of the 30km/hr Slow Zones in certain urban areas and residential estates in the following areas:

Sandymount, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Raheny, Artane, Donaghmede, Drumcondra, Glasnevin and Phibsborough with effect from midnight on Wednesday, 31ts May, 2017.

The Phase 1 expansion to the 30km/hr Speed Zones in the city was introduced on 1st April, 2017 in certain residential areas and in the vicinity of schools in areas of Dublin boarded by the Canals.

Bye-laws for the 30km/hr expansion were adopted by Dublin City councillors in December 2016 following a period of public consultation.

The speed on the arterial roads will not be reduced at this time, but will be reviewed as part of Phase 3, expected in 2018.

Details of Phase 2 expansion is available to view at


Notes to the Editor:

The benefits of lower speed limits include:

  • A reduced risk of pedestrians and cyclists being killed or injured.
  • Traffic moves more smoothly with minimal effects on journey times
  • Air and Noise pollution are reduced
  • More people walking and cycling
  • More children playing outdoors
  • Our urban and village streets and residential estates can be transformed form car dominated through-roads to vibrant living  ‘people friendly’ spaces creating calmer communities
  • Carbon emission are reduced by the increase in the number of people walking and cycling

For further information contact: