book awards

The Children's Book of the Year Shortlist is Announced!

GroundedEight titles have been shortlisted for the 24th CBI Book of the Year Awards. The shortlist was announced on Tuesday, 18th March, and includes such big name authors as Eoin Colfer, Derek Landy and last year's winner, Sheena Wilkinson, to name just three. The award winners will be announced on the 13th May.

Right: 'Grounded' by Sheena Wilkinson, the 2013 Overall Winner.

Now in their 24th year, the awards are made annually by Children’s Books Ireland to authors and illustrators born or resident in Ireland and are open to books written in Irish or English and published in the previous year. The CBI Awards are the only annual Children's Book Awards in Ireland.

The shortlisted titles (with links to the library catalogue) are:

And the Folio Prize Winner is... Tenth of December by George Saunders!

Tenth of DecemberThe winner of the £40,000 Folio Prize was announced last night and it is... 'Tenth of December' by George Saunders (USA)! 'Tenth of December' is a collection of short stories by Texas-born Saunders, a professor of creative writing at Syracuse University in the USA. He is a writer of short stories, novellas, essays and children's books. Saunders had only recently (5 March) been announced as the winner of the US Story Prize, an annual book award established in 2004 that honours the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction. In so doing he collected a cheque for $20,000.

The Inaugural Folio Prize Shortlist Announced

A Girl is a Half-formed ThingIrish author Eimear McBride is making a habit of being nominated for inaugural literary awards! Eimear was today announced as one of the eight novelists shortlisted for the inaugural Folio Prize. The other authors shortlisted are Anne Carson, Amity Gaige, Jane Gardam, Kent Haruf, Rachel Kushner, Sergio De La Pava and George Saunders.  The eight are all in the running for the £40,000 prize, the winner of which will be announced on Monday, 1st March.

Eimear's book, 'A Girl is a Half-formed Thing', tells the story of a young woman's relationship with her brother, and the long shadow cast by his childhood brain tumour. Only last November Eimear's book won the inaugural Goldsmiths Prize, having been rejected by publishers for a good number of years until Galley Beggar Press took a chance on it, a book other publishers thought too experimental.

The eight books in contention for this year’s prize are:

Carnegie And Kate Greenaway Medals Longlists Announced

CILIP Carnegi Greenway MedalToday, (Tuesday 4th February), the longlists for both the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are revealed.

Debut Novel Wins Costa Book Award

The Shock of the FallThe Costa Book of the Year 2013 overall winner is the debut novel, 'The Shock of the Fall' by Nathan Filer (Harper Collins Publishers).

As the judges had to say - "It’s hard to believe this is a first novel – it’s so good it will make you feel a better person."

About the Book

The Shock of the Fall tells the story of Matthew and Simon, two brothers who are separated yet united by a tragic accident. Exploring themes of loss, grief and mental illness, this extraordinary novel transports the reader directly into the mind of Matthew and his slow descent into madness as he confronts his role in the boyhood death of his older brother ten years ago..

Belfast Poet Sinéad Morrissey wins the TS Eliot Prize!

Sinéad MorrisseyBelfast poet Sinéad Morrissey was last night named as the winner of the prestigious TS Eliot Prize for Poetry for her latest collection 'Parallax'. This is her fifth collection and it was chosen from a shortlist of ten. With her win she collects a prize of £15,000.

ParallaxSinéad Morrissey is reader in creative writing at the Seamus Heaney Centre at Queen’s University and the city’s inaugural Poet Laureate. Born in 1972 in County Armagh, she is the author of five poetry collections - There was fire in Vancouver (1996), 'Between Here and There' (2002), 'The State of the Prisons'(2005), 'Through the Square Window' (2009) and 'Parallax' (2013). The last four have all been shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize.

Costa Book Awards 2013 Category Winners Announced!

Costa Book Awards logoThe five category winners of the Costa Book Awards 2013 have been announced and include novelist and former winner Kate Atkinson. Her category win (Costa Novel Award) with her eight novel, 'Life after Life', comes 19 years after she won the overall Costa prize for her debut novel, 'Behind The Scenes At The Museum'. 'Life After Life' follows Ursula Todd, born in England during a snowstorm in 1910, as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again.

2013 Irish Book Award Winners Announced

John BanvilleThe BORD GÁIS Energy Irish Book Award winners were announced last night.

Authors Roddy Doyle, Darina Allen, Paul Howard and Michael Harding were among the winners in the various categories.

Children’s writers Benji Bennett and Derek Landy, newcomer Niamh Boyce, crime writer Louise Philips, sports writer David Walsh, short story writer Billy O’ Callaghan and Fintan O’Toole were also honoured at the gala ceremony held in Dublin.

Esteemed novelist John Banville (left, image source) was presented with the 'Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award 2013' by actress Sinéad Cusack for his contribution to Irish literature, and a tribute to the late Seamus Heaney was screened during the ceremony which featured accolades from former US President Bill Clinton and Edna O’ Brien.

The Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year is... The Doll's House!

The Doll's HouseThe Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year is... 'The Doll's House' by Louise Phillips!

The winning books in each category of the Irish Book Awards were announced tonight.

This Dublin-based psychological thriller, published in August 2013, is the second novel from Phillips. It features criminal psychologist Kate Pearson and DI O’Connor.

Louise Phillips' debut novel, 'Red Ribbons', was shortlisted for the 2012 Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year Award.

2014 Dublin Literary Award Longlist Announcement

2014 Dublin Literary Award logoThe 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was launched today, 11th November, by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Oisín Quinn, Patron of the Award. (see video below)