book awards

CWA Award Winners Announced!

Alex and The Ghost Riders of OrdebecLast night saw the winners announced in a number of categories in the annual CWA (Crime Writers' Association) Dagger Awards, PLUS the longlists announced in the remaining categories. The announcement that excited me most was that of the International Dagger winner, or rather winners! Yes, in a rather unusual step, the judges saw fit to share the Award between two French writers, Pierre Lemaitre for Alex, and Fred Vargas for The Ghost Riders of Ordebec. Personally I couldn't be more pleased, I have long been a fan of Fred Vargas, loving this her latest as much as any of her previous, and being equally pleased having read the first book in translation by Pierre Lemaitre. Lemaitre is a real find and I can't wait for the next in the Verhoerven series to be translated - or maybe it is just the incentive I need to brush up on my french? You can read what I had to say about both titles in a recent post of mine here on the blog.

Literary Award Winner's Acceptance Speech

On Thursday, 6th June 2013, in the Mansion House in Dublin, 'City of Bohane' by Kevin Barry was announced as the winner of the 18th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award.

Watch Kevin deliver his acceptance speech: 

CILIP Carnegie Greenaway 2013 Winners Announced Today

Maggot MoonThe CILIP Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenway Medal winners for 2013 have just been announced. The Carnegie Medal was won by Dyslexic author Sally Gardner with 'Maggot Moon' (published by Hot Key Books). In this tale, when his best friend Hector is suddenly taken away, Standish Treadwell realises that it is up to him, his grandfather and a small band of rebels to confront and defeat the ever-present oppressive forces of The Motherland.

The shortlist also included award-winning Irish author Roddy Doyle's 'A Greyhound of a Girl'. Read about the shortlist on previous blog post.

The Kate Greenway Medal was won by illustrator Levi Pinfold for only his second picture book, 'Black Dog' (published by Templar Publishing).

Bakker wins Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

The Detour by Gerbrand Bakker'The winner of the 2013 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize is 'The Detour' by Dutch author Gerbrand Bakker, translated by David Colmer. 'The Detour' is only his second novel.

Bakker is a previous winner of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award (2010) for his first novel 'The Twin'.

What is particularly noteworthy about this award is that, like the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and maybe too the Man Booker international Prize (the winner to be announced today in fact!), it puts the spotlight on books in translation and exposes the reader to so much fine world literature only accessible due to the marvellous work of that unsung hero, the translator.

2013 Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist Announced

Women's Prize 2013 ShortlistThe shortlist for this year's Women's Prize for Fiction was announced this morning. Launched in 1996, and formerly the Orange Prize, the Women's Prize for Fiction is awarded to a female author who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best, eligible full-length novel in English. The prize is the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman.

Right: Shortlist titles. Click image to view larger version.

Women fiction writers have been getting a lot of good press these past two days, which is good to see. Today's announcement follows fast on the heels of yesterday's by literary magazine Granta of its once-in-a-decade list of the 20 Best of Young British Novelists(aged under 40), a list dominated for the first time by women. Read Granta list of top young novelists is female-dominated and international (Guardian)

The 2013 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award Shortlist

10 novels have been shortlisted for the International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award. The list includes City of Bohane by Irish author, Kevin Barry, five novels in translation from Japan, Iceland, Norway, The Netherlands and France, 1 British and 3 American novels.

Literary Award shortlist

CILIP Carnegie Greenaway Shortlist Announced Today!

CILIP Carnegie AwardThe CILIP Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenway Medal shortlists for 2013 have just been announced and the former includes award winning Irish writer of both adult and children's books, Roddy Doyle. 

The Carnegie Medal, awarded annually, was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist Andrew Carnegie (1835 - 1919). Carnegie set up more than 2,800 libraries across the English speaking world. The Award is the oldest accolade for children's writing in the UK.

The Carnegie Medal shortlist is as follows (with links to library catalogue where title is in stock):

Costa Book Awards 2012 Category Winners Announced!

Bring up the BodiesUpdate (29 Jan): Hilary Mantel announced as overall winner! (see comment below) 

For the first time ever, a female winner features in every category of the 2012 Costa Book Awards. The category winners were announced today, Thursday, 3rd January.

The winners in the different categories are as follows:-

Hilary Mantel wins the Novel Award with 'Bring up the Bodies', the book that won her the Man Booker prize back in October. She therefore becomes the first author to win both the Costa Novel Award and the Booker Prize in the same year. 'Bring up the Bodies' is the sequel to 'Wolf Hall' and part of a trilogy, and in it Mantel explores one of the most mystifying and frightening episodes in English history: the destruction of Anne Boleyn.

Irish Book Award Winners Announced

A Week in WinterThe winners of the seventh Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards were announced last night in the RDS in Dublin. It was wonderful to see the late Maeve Binchy win the Popular Fiction prize for her last book, 'A Week in Winter', which she had just finished writing a matter of weeks before her sad passing in late July. Her husband Gordon Snell was on hand to receive her award.

Other winners were:-

Literary Award Longlist Announced

Longlist AnnouncementThe longlist of books nominated for the 2013 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was announced today, Monday, 12th November. With 154 books, nominated by libraries in 120 cities, in 44 countries, in 19 languages, it's the most international of literary awards.

Right: Dublin City Librarian, Margaret Hayes, and the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Cllr Naoise Ó Muirí, Patron of the Award (click to view larger image).

Eight novels by Irish authors are among the 154 books that have been nominated. Nominations also include 43 American, 22 British and 12 Canadian novels, as well as 42 books translated into English.