book awards

Guardian First Book Award 2015 shortlist announced

shortlistYet another book award I hear you say! Well, with so many book awards out there, it's hard to avoid reading about them, particularly at the moment, what with longlist, shortlist and winner announcements making the headlines everywhere. And I make no apologies for writing award-related posts here, for there are few if any better ways of showcasing books and reading than to highlight those titles that rise to the top in the eyes of judges and title nominators alike. A list of books in contention for one award or another can serve you well when looking for your next read; it can be interesting too to then compare your view with the views of those who nominate books, reviewers and award judges alike.

Two Irish Authors on Costa Book Awards Shortlists

Costa logoIrish authors Anne Enright and Sara Baume have both had books shortlisted in the 2015 Costa Book Awards. Enright's novel 'The Green Road' is shortlisted for the 2015 Costa Novel Award, while Baume's debut novel 'Spill Simmer Falter Wither' is shortlisted for the 2015 Costa First Novel Award.

The Costa shortlists, of which there are five, were announced on Wednesday, 18 November. The category winners will be announced on the 4 January 2016 and will each receive £,5000, while the Costa Book of the Year will be announced on the 26 January, the winner receiving £30,000. Last year's winning book was 'H is for Hawk' by Helen Macdonald.

Irish Author Kevin Barry Strikes Gold!

Kevin BarryCongrats to Kevin Barry on being declared winner of The Goldsmiths Prize for Fiction for his fictional account of Beatle John Lennon's trip to Ireland, 'Beatlebone'. And to think the book has only just hit the shelves, being shortlisted as it was in advance of its public release! The prize is worth st£10,000 to the winner.

About Beatlebone:  "A famous musician's (John Lennon) 1978 pilgrimage to an island off the west coast of Ireland takes several detours, abetted by his memories and his minder, in this original, lyrical, genre-challenging work... Nothing at all like Barry's award-winning debut novel, this may be a risky follow-up, but it's intriguing at every turn, and Barry's prose can be as mesmerizing as some of his hero's songs." Kirkus Review

Irish Crime Fiction Award Time!

Unravelling OliverThe Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards shortlists were announced on Thursday (5th Nov) , and one of the categories I'm delighted to say is crime fiction. I wrote back in October 2013  about how Irish Crime Fiction (was) in a Healthy State, and I think it safe to say that hasn't changed.

Right: Last year's winner, Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent

This year's shortlist is:-

Irish Book Awards 2015 shortlists announced

Academy StreetIt's that time of year again, when the eagerly awaited shortlists for the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards are announced. In all, there are eleven adult categories and two children's categories, so that is a lot of books to choose from! And when you add in the fact that the International Dublin Literary Award 2016 longlist is to be announced on Monday, then you will have a huge selection to choose from when deciding on Christmas presents and your library reading material over the next year! We just love books!

Right: Last year's overall winner, Academy Street by Mary Costello

The Irish Book Award categories and shortlisted titles are as follows (with links to our catalogue):-

Young Reader Power!

CBA logoToday say the announcement of the shortlist for The Children’s Book Award 2016! This UK award is the only literary award chosen and voted for entirely by children.  Previous winners include JK Rowling, Patrick Ness, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Morpurgo, the latter having already won the Award three times and in line to add to that total!

The awards has three categories: books for younger children, books for younger readers and books for older readers. The books on the shortlists were chosen by children who read and voted for the books at events across the UK. The full shortlist in each category is as follows (with links to our catalogue):-

New Author Sara Baume is Getting Noticed!

Sara BaumeSara Baume was yesterday awarded the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature in recognition of her outstanding achievement as a fiction writer. The prize is awarded annually to an emerging Irish writer under forty years of age for a body of work that the selection committee considers shows exceptional promise. However the Prize website does state that 'a single exceptional work may warrant an award'.

Right: Sara Baume (photo: Tramp Press)

Marlon James wins the 2015 Man Booker Prize

A Brief History of Seven Killings'A Brief History of Seven Killings' by Marlon James is the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Originally published in 2014, it is set against the backdrop of 1970s reggae culture, disco, drug crime, sex and excess, and is a fictional account of an attempted assassination of Bob Marley. The novel, extending to some 688 pages,  spans several decades and is not for the faint-hearted!

Man Booker 2015 Shortlist Announced

Man BookerThe shortlist of six titles for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize was announced today and includes two titles by US authors, two by UK authors, plus one each by a Jamaican and an Nigerian. So no place unfortunately for Anne Enright who had made the longlist. This is the second year that the prize, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was open only to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

Check out below the shortlisted titles in the library catalogue:

Man Booker Announces 2015 Longlist

Man BookerThe longlist for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize was announced today and includes 'The Green Road' by Irish author Anne Enright. Anne is a previous winner of the Man Booker, having won in 2007 with' The Gathering'. On the 29 January of this year she was named the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction.

The longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges, includes three debut authors, and is as follows (with links to catalogue where available):