book awards

Marlon James wins the 2015 Man Booker Prize

A Brief History of Seven Killings'A Brief History of Seven Killings' by Marlon James is the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Originally published in 2014, it is set against the backdrop of 1970s reggae culture, disco, drug crime, sex and excess, and is a fictional account of an attempted assassination of Bob Marley. The novel, extending to some 688 pages,  spans several decades and is not for the faint-hearted!

Man Booker 2015 Shortlist Announced

Man BookerThe shortlist of six titles for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize was announced today and includes two titles by US authors, two by UK authors, plus one each by a Jamaican and an Nigerian. So no place unfortunately for Anne Enright who had made the longlist. This is the second year that the prize, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was open only to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

Check out below the shortlisted titles in the library catalogue:

Man Booker Announces 2015 Longlist

Man BookerThe longlist for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize was announced today and includes 'The Green Road' by Irish author Anne Enright. Anne is a previous winner of the Man Booker, having won in 2007 with' The Gathering'. On the 29 January of this year she was named the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction.

The longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges, includes three debut authors, and is as follows (with links to catalogue where available):

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2015 longlist

Children's fiction prize The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2015 longlist was announced earlier today, Friday 10th July. This literary award, first established in 1965, honours and recognises outstanding Junior and Young Adult fiction and has a reputation of selecting books that have become instant classics including Philip Pullman's Northern Lights, Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Patrick Ness' The Knife of Never Letting Go amongst many others.

Shirley Hughes, a Children's Favourite

DoggerChildren's author and illustrator Shirley Hughes (b. 1927) has just become the first person to win the inaugural Book Trust Lifetime Achievement Award. This new award is for making "an outstanding contribution to children's literature".

Hughes is best known as the creator of the beautifully illustrated Alfie picture books and the picture book 'Dogger', the latter winning the Kate Greenaway medal for book illustration in 1977. Dogger has also been voted the public’s favourite Kate Greenaway Medal winner of all time. Hughes again won the Kate Greenaway medal in 2003 for 'Ella's Big Chance', her adaptation of the Cinderella story. In total she has authored more than 50 books and illustrated over 200.

Lemaitre's Camille wins the CWA International Dagger

Camille'Camille' by Pierre Lemaitre (translated by Frank Wynne, published by Quercus, March 2015) was last night announced as the winner of the Crime Writers' Association (CWA)  International Dagger. For my part I am delighted with the selection, even though I haven't yet read this, the third in the trilogy starring Commandant Camille Verhoeven (what an admission!). The first two titles I can highly recommend, and if 'Camille' is anything like as good then I have no hesitation in saying that the selection is well justified. Let me quickly add that I presently await the arrival of my library copy; I expect it any day now.

Jim Crace Winning Speech

Jim CraceOn Wednesday, 17th June, 'Harvest' by British author Jim Crace was announced as the winner of the 2015 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award.  'Harvest' was chosen from a total of 142 titles, nominated by libraries in 114 cities in 39 countries.  Jim Crace became the fourth British author to win the Award in its 20 year history.

Harvest by Jim Crace Wins the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Harvest'Harvest' by British author Jim Crace is the winner of the 2015 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award!

The winning novel was chosen from a total of 142 titles, nominated by libraries in 114 cities in 39 countries. It was first published in the UK by Picador. The shortlist of ten novels, as chosen by an international panel of judges, included novels from five continents. Jim Crace is the fourth British author to win the International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award in its 20 year history.

'Harvest' was nominated by Universitätsbibliothek Bern, Switzerland; and by LeRoy Collins Leon County Public Library, Tallahassee, USA.

More Winners and Exciting Reads

End of DaysIt looks like a couple of (relatively) recent book award announcements escaped through the cracks here on our blog, so let me right that now with a quick mention of two that come to mind.

Most recent was the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize winner announcement in late May, the winning title being 'The End of Days' by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated from the German by Susan Bernofsky. The book was described in the Irish Times as "a chilling and profound tapestry woven through the agonies of 20th-century European history. A superb, even supreme example of exciting international fiction". The UK Guardian described it as "a profound and exhilarating novel".

The Baileys Prize for Fiction Winner is... How to Be Both

How to be bothAli Smith was last night announced as the winner of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Winner for her novel 'How to Be Both'.  In so doing she takes home a cheque for £30,000 and a large measure of compensation for missing out on the Booker and Folio Prizes for the same title.

Check the library catalogue for: 'How to be Both' | Ali Smith.

The Scottish author was selected from a shortlist of six, which included four British authors one British-Pakistani author and an American, for the Baileys Women's Prize.