book awards

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2015 longlist

Children's fiction prize The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2015 longlist was announced earlier today, Friday 10th July. This literary award, first established in 1965, honours and recognises outstanding Junior and Young Adult fiction and has a reputation of selecting books that have become instant classics including Philip Pullman's Northern Lights, Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Patrick Ness' The Knife of Never Letting Go amongst many others.

Shirley Hughes, a Children's Favourite

DoggerChildren's author and illustrator Shirley Hughes (b. 1927) has just become the first person to win the inaugural Book Trust Lifetime Achievement Award. This new award is for making "an outstanding contribution to children's literature".

Hughes is best known as the creator of the beautifully illustrated Alfie picture books and the picture book 'Dogger', the latter winning the Kate Greenaway medal for book illustration in 1977. Dogger has also been voted the public’s favourite Kate Greenaway Medal winner of all time. Hughes again won the Kate Greenaway medal in 2003 for 'Ella's Big Chance', her adaptation of the Cinderella story. In total she has authored more than 50 books and illustrated over 200.

Lemaitre's Camille wins the CWA International Dagger

Camille'Camille' by Pierre Lemaitre (translated by Frank Wynne, published by Quercus, March 2015) was last night announced as the winner of the Crime Writers' Association (CWA)  International Dagger. For my part I am delighted with the selection, even though I haven't yet read this, the third in the trilogy starring Commandant Camille Verhoeven (what an admission!). The first two titles I can highly recommend, and if 'Camille' is anything like as good then I have no hesitation in saying that the selection is well justified. Let me quickly add that I presently await the arrival of my library copy; I expect it any day now.

Jim Crace Winning Speech

Jim CraceOn Wednesday, 17th June, 'Harvest' by British author Jim Crace was announced as the winner of the 2015 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award.  'Harvest' was chosen from a total of 142 titles, nominated by libraries in 114 cities in 39 countries.  Jim Crace became the fourth British author to win the Award in its 20 year history.

Harvest by Jim Crace Wins the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Harvest'Harvest' by British author Jim Crace is the winner of the 2015 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award!

The winning novel was chosen from a total of 142 titles, nominated by libraries in 114 cities in 39 countries. It was first published in the UK by Picador. The shortlist of ten novels, as chosen by an international panel of judges, included novels from five continents. Jim Crace is the fourth British author to win the International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award in its 20 year history.

'Harvest' was nominated by Universitätsbibliothek Bern, Switzerland; and by LeRoy Collins Leon County Public Library, Tallahassee, USA.

More Winners and Exciting Reads

End of DaysIt looks like a couple of (relatively) recent book award announcements escaped through the cracks here on our blog, so let me right that now with a quick mention of two that come to mind.

Most recent was the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize winner announcement in late May, the winning title being 'The End of Days' by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated from the German by Susan Bernofsky. The book was described in the Irish Times as "a chilling and profound tapestry woven through the agonies of 20th-century European history. A superb, even supreme example of exciting international fiction". The UK Guardian described it as "a profound and exhilarating novel".

The Baileys Prize for Fiction Winner is... How to Be Both

How to be bothAli Smith was last night announced as the winner of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Winner for her novel 'How to Be Both'.  In so doing she takes home a cheque for £30,000 and a large measure of compensation for missing out on the Booker and Folio Prizes for the same title.

Check the library catalogue for: 'How to be Both' | Ali Smith.

The Scottish author was selected from a shortlist of six, which included four British authors one British-Pakistani author and an American, for the Baileys Women's Prize.

The Children's Book of 2015 is... Once Upon an Alphabet

Once Upon an Alphabet'Once Upon an Alphabet' by Oliver Jeffers was announced as the winning title of the 25th Children's Books Ireland (CBI) Book of the Year Award on Tuesday (19th May) at a ceremony held in the Light House Cinema in Dublin.

(From Press Release) "Picturebook creator Oliver Jeffers has won the 25th CBI Book of the Year Award and is the third author ever to win both the Book of the Year Award and the Children’s Choice award for his title 'Once Upon an Alphabet'. Presenting twenty-six original and innovative stories about the letters of the alphabet, the book combines clever text and engaging line drawings. The judges said, ‘Every school, every home, every person should have at least one copy, as this is a book that bears repeated readings. Each letter of the alphabet is introduced with its own story, each one weaving in and out of one another, asking the reader to make connections and cross-references. Although this is an alphabet book, the cleverly constructed stories and quirky line drawings make this the perfect read for children of all ages.'"

'All the Light We Cannot See' is the 2015 Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

All the Light We Cannot See coverThe Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is awarded annually to an American author of distinguished fiction, preferably writing about American life. Each year the winner is bestowed $10,000 (£6,700) as part of the honour. This year's winner is Anthony Doerr, for his World War II novel titled All the Light We Cannot See.

Anthony Doerr tells the story of a girl and a boy that are living during World War II, and whose paths are destined to cross in beautiful and almost melodic prose in All the Light We Cannot See. The girl, Marie-Laure, goes blind at the age of six, and to help her learn her way around the city, her father builds her scaled and extremely intricate wooden models of her neighbourhood in Paris, so that using her sense of touch she can memorize landmarks and navigate her way around outside on her own. He works at the Museum of Natural History in Paris, as a lockmaster, and Marie-Laure often accompanies him to the museum.

Irish Writer Donal Ryan Awarded with EU Literary Prize

the spinning heartDonal Ryan, author of Spinning Heart, was one of the 12 recipients of the 2015 European Union Prize for Literature at the London Book Fair. The prize is intended to recognise up-and-coming talent in literature, and rewards each of the 12 winners with €5,000. It was established in 2009. The winners are also encouraged to apply for funding from the EU in order to have their books translated into other languages. 

The award receives funding from Creative Europe, an initiative that has the goal of adding fire to the competition and passion in the fields of creativity and culture in the European Union.