book awards

The Children's Book of the Year is... Hagwitch!

HagwitchCongratulations to Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick for picking up the Children's Book of the Year award with her novel HagwitchEight titles were shortlisted for the 24th CBI Book of the Year Awards, the shortlist having been announced on Tuesday, 18th March last.

Book Summary: Two lives, four centuries apart, but a dark secret ties them together. It's summer, and the world of the theatre barge is coming to life. It's Lally's world and the only one she's ever known. But when her father pulls an ancient piece of wood from the canal and fashions it into a puppet, strange things begin to happen. Soon Lally starts to wonder whether there is something sinister about the wooden doll - could she be connected to the mysterious hagwitch?

Shortlist announced for International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2014

Novels by Irish author Donal Ryan and David Park from Northern Ireland have been shortlisted for the 2014 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, which was announced today, 9 April. The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan has been described as the definitive novel of the downturn. Ryan perfectly inhabits each of a range of characters, capturing their voices and in doing so, expertly delineates life in small town rural Ireland.  In Light of Amsterdam David Park takes three pairs of characters to Amsterdam, where he gradually weaves their stories toward moments of epiphany. It is another great read from the author of The Truth Commissioner, which was longlisted for the award in 2010.

Also on the list is previous winner Gerbrand Bakker. Bakker won the award in 2010 for his beautifully understated yet moving novel, The Twin, which was also translated from Dutch by David Colmer.

Books shortlisted for International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Two Irish Authors on Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist

Baileys Women's Prize for FictionTwo Irish authors, Eimear McBride and Audrey Magee have been shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction for their debut novels, A Girl is a Half-formed Thing and The Undertaking.

A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride is a highly original novel that navigates complicated family relationships and memories using stream of consciousness. It was recently shortlisted for the inaugural Folio Prize and won the inaugural Goldsmiths Prize 2013, a literary award for fiction that "opens up new possibilities for the novel form". Audrey Magee's The Undertaking, a powerful first novel set in Germany and the Soviet Union during World War II, is an intense portrayal of ordinary people pushed to do extraordinary things, setting in motion events that will have horrific consequences.

Also on the shortlist is Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche who won the award in 2007 for Half of a Yellow Sun.

Here's the full shortlist (with links to library catalogue):

The Children's Book of the Year Shortlist is Announced!

GroundedEight titles have been shortlisted for the 24th CBI Book of the Year Awards. The shortlist was announced on Tuesday, 18th March, and includes such big name authors as Eoin Colfer, Derek Landy and last year's winner, Sheena Wilkinson, to name just three. The award winners will be announced on the 13th May.

Right: 'Grounded' by Sheena Wilkinson, the 2013 Overall Winner.

Now in their 24th year, the awards are made annually by Children’s Books Ireland to authors and illustrators born or resident in Ireland and are open to books written in Irish or English and published in the previous year. The CBI Awards are the only annual Children's Book Awards in Ireland.

The shortlisted titles (with links to the library catalogue) are:

And the Folio Prize Winner is... Tenth of December by George Saunders!

Tenth of DecemberThe winner of the £40,000 Folio Prize was announced last night and it is... 'Tenth of December' by George Saunders (USA)! 'Tenth of December' is a collection of short stories by Texas-born Saunders, a professor of creative writing at Syracuse University in the USA. He is a writer of short stories, novellas, essays and children's books. Saunders had only recently (5 March) been announced as the winner of the US Story Prize, an annual book award established in 2004 that honours the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction. In so doing he collected a cheque for $20,000.

The Inaugural Folio Prize Shortlist Announced

A Girl is a Half-formed ThingIrish author Eimear McBride is making a habit of being nominated for inaugural literary awards! Eimear was today announced as one of the eight novelists shortlisted for the inaugural Folio Prize. The other authors shortlisted are Anne Carson, Amity Gaige, Jane Gardam, Kent Haruf, Rachel Kushner, Sergio De La Pava and George Saunders.  The eight are all in the running for the £40,000 prize, the winner of which will be announced on Monday, 1st March.

Eimear's book, 'A Girl is a Half-formed Thing', tells the story of a young woman's relationship with her brother, and the long shadow cast by his childhood brain tumour. Only last November Eimear's book won the inaugural Goldsmiths Prize, having been rejected by publishers for a good number of years until Galley Beggar Press took a chance on it, a book other publishers thought too experimental.

The eight books in contention for this year’s prize are:

Carnegie And Kate Greenaway Medals Longlists Announced

CILIP Carnegi Greenway MedalToday, (Tuesday 4th February), the longlists for both the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are revealed.

Debut Novel Wins Costa Book Award

The Shock of the FallThe Costa Book of the Year 2013 overall winner is the debut novel, 'The Shock of the Fall' by Nathan Filer (Harper Collins Publishers).

As the judges had to say - "It’s hard to believe this is a first novel – it’s so good it will make you feel a better person."

About the Book

The Shock of the Fall tells the story of Matthew and Simon, two brothers who are separated yet united by a tragic accident. Exploring themes of loss, grief and mental illness, this extraordinary novel transports the reader directly into the mind of Matthew and his slow descent into madness as he confronts his role in the boyhood death of his older brother ten years ago..

Belfast Poet Sinéad Morrissey wins the TS Eliot Prize!

Sinéad MorrisseyBelfast poet Sinéad Morrissey was last night named as the winner of the prestigious TS Eliot Prize for Poetry for her latest collection 'Parallax'. This is her fifth collection and it was chosen from a shortlist of ten. With her win she collects a prize of £15,000.

ParallaxSinéad Morrissey is reader in creative writing at the Seamus Heaney Centre at Queen’s University and the city’s inaugural Poet Laureate. Born in 1972 in County Armagh, she is the author of five poetry collections - There was fire in Vancouver (1996), 'Between Here and There' (2002), 'The State of the Prisons'(2005), 'Through the Square Window' (2009) and 'Parallax' (2013). The last four have all been shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize.

Costa Book Awards 2013 Category Winners Announced!

Costa Book Awards logoThe five category winners of the Costa Book Awards 2013 have been announced and include novelist and former winner Kate Atkinson. Her category win (Costa Novel Award) with her eight novel, 'Life after Life', comes 19 years after she won the overall Costa prize for her debut novel, 'Behind The Scenes At The Museum'. 'Life After Life' follows Ursula Todd, born in England during a snowstorm in 1910, as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again.