Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2019

Printer-friendly version

Image of Citywide map

Dublin City Council propose to expand the areas covered by the 30km/h speed limit. The proposed bye-laws governing this amendment are open for public consultation from Monday 12th August to Sunday 22nd September. To visit the public consultation hub please click here.

Please click here to view full size map of all areas.

The default speed limit for roads within Dublin City Council area is 50km/h.

Most roads within the city boundary have a speed limit of 50 km/h apart from a limited number of roads having speed limits of 30 km/h, 60 km/h or 80 km/h.
Speed limit signs are erected at all points where there is a change of speed limit.

Details of speed limits are given in current Bye-Laws entitled Dublin City Council Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2018. A map showing speed limits in your area may be viewed here.