Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2018

Printer-friendly version

Image of Citywide map

Dublin City Council introduced the further expansion of the 30km/hr speed limit zones in Dublin City on Wednesday 31st May 2017. The expansion will include certain urban areas and residential estates in the following locations: Sandymount, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Raheny, Artane, Donaghmede, Drumcondra, Phibsborough.

Please click here to view full size map of all areas.

The default speed limit for roads within Dublin City Council area is 50km/h.

Most roads within the city boundary have a speed limit of 50 km/h apart from a limited number of roads having speed limits of 30 km/h, 60 km/h or 80 km/h.
Speed limit signs are erected at all points where there is a change of speed limit.

Details of speed limits are given in current Bye-Laws entitled Dublin City Council Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2016. These Bye-Laws came into effect on 31st March 2017.