2015 Man Booker International Shortlist

Printer-friendly version

The Man Booker International Prize 2015 LogoThe 2015 Man Booker International Prize Shortlist writers have just been announced today on 24 March, 2015. The ten finalists were revealed by Professor Marina Warner at a press conference hosted at the University of Cape Town in South Africa. The prize recognizes a writer for his/her achievement in fiction, and bestows them with a £60,000 award. This year marks the sixth time of the Man Booker International Prize being awarded.

Ten countries are represented by the writers on this year's shortlist, six of which are new to be represented on the list of finalists since the award's origin: Libya, Mozambique, Guadeloupe, Hungary, South Africa and Congo. 

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation to English. The judging panel exclusively chooses the winner, at their own discretions. Past winners include Lydia Davis, Philip Roth, Alice Munro, Chinua Achebe and Ismail Kadare.

The 2015 prize will be announced at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on 19 May, 2015.

The 2015 Shortlist Writers

Titles available from the library catalogue by the shortlist finalists are linked to above.


The winner of the 2015 Man Booker International Prize is... Hungarian writer László Krasznahorkai.  He was announced as the winner on Tuesday 19 May 2015.

Add new comment