Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist announced

Printer-friendly version

The Lesser BohemiansCongratulations to Irish author Eimear McBride whose second novel The Lesser Bohemians has been longlisted for the Baileys Prize for Fiction.  The Lesser Bohemians is about Eily, a young drama student who moves from rural Ireland to London in the mid nineties, and relishes the freedom, new experiences and temptations of this new life.

The longlist also features literary legends Margaret Atwood and Annie Proulx, as well as some new names, debut novelists Ayobami Adebayo, Emma Flint and Fiona Melrose.  Authors on the longlist who have previously won the prize are Linda Grant (2000) Rose Tremain (2008) and Eimear McBride (2014).

Here's the full longlist with links to the library catalogue:

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo
The Power by Naomi Alderman
Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood
Bailey's Women's Prize for FictionLittle Deaths by Emma Flint
The Mare by Mary Gaitskill
The Dark Circle by Linda Grant
The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride
Midwinter by Fiona Melrose
The Sport of Kings by C.E. Morgan
The Woman Next Door by Yewande Omotoso
The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill
The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry
Barkskins by Annie Proulx
First Love by Gwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain

2017 Chair of Judges Tessa Ross said of this year’s longlist, “We’re all thrilled by where we’ve ended up and truly excited by the quality and range of talent on this year’s longlist. It’s a great showcase for the very best contemporary women’s fiction – we hope that it will inspire readers everywhere.”

The shortlist of 6 will be announced on 3 April and the winner on 7 June. Read more:

Add new comment