CILIP Carnegie Greenaway Shortlist Announced Today!

Printer-friendly version

CILIP Carnegie AwardThe CILIP Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenway Medal shortlists for 2013 have just been announced and the former includes award winning Irish writer of both adult and children's books, Roddy Doyle. 

The Carnegie Medal, awarded annually, was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist Andrew Carnegie (1835 - 1919). Carnegie set up more than 2,800 libraries across the English speaking world. The Award is the oldest accolade for children's writing in the UK.

The Carnegie Medal shortlist is as follows (with links to library catalogue where title is in stock):


The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal Shortlist for 2013

The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. The award is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her beautiful children's illustrations and designs.

Winners will be announced on Wednesday 19 June 2013.

Read details/reviews of each book on

Andrew Carnegie

Left: Andrew Carnegie (1835 - 1919)

'Irish Carnegie libraries, a catalogue and architectural history', by Brendan Grimes. Between 1897 and 1913, Andrew Carnegie promised over £170,000 to pay for the building of some 80 libraries in Ireland. 62 of those libraries have survived to the present day. This book offers histories of Ireland's Carnegie libraries.

Photos of Carnegie Libraries worldwide on flickr


Add new comment