CWA Award Winners Announced!

Printer-friendly version

Alex and The Ghost Riders of OrdebecLast night saw the winners announced in a number of categories in the annual CWA (Crime Writers' Association) Dagger Awards, PLUS the longlists announced in the remaining categories. The announcement that excited me most was that of the International Dagger winner, or rather winners! Yes, in a rather unusual step, the judges saw fit to share the Award between two French writers, Pierre Lemaitre for Alex, and Fred Vargas for The Ghost Riders of Ordebec. Personally I couldn't be more pleased, I have long been a fan of Fred Vargas, loving this her latest as much as any of her previous, and being equally pleased having read the first book in translation by Pierre Lemaitre. Lemaitre is a real find and I can't wait for the next in the Verhoerven series to be translated - or maybe it is just the incentive I need to brush up on my french? You can read what I had to say about both titles in a recent post of mine here on the blog.

Like I say in my blog post, going by the result from last night, I think it fair to say that the Nordic countries have not after all got it all to themselves in the realm of crime fiction!

Other category winners were:-

CWA logo

- Ellis Peters Historical Dagger: The Scent of Death by Andrew Taylor (copies on order)
- Diamond Dagger: Lee Child
- Non-Fiction Dagger: Midnight in Peking by Paul French
- Dagger in the Library: Belinda Bauer
- Short Story Dagger: Come Away with Me by Stella Duffy
- Debut Dagger: Finn Clarke her story Call Time

RatlinesThe longlists for the CWA Gold, Steel, and John Creasey Daggers were also announced, with twenty authors in contention for these prizes, and three of them have been longlisted in more than one category. Of particular interest might be that Northern Irish author Stuart Neville is on the Steel longlist for his novel Ratlines. Last year Gene Kerrigan won the Gold Dagger for his novel The Rage.

The winners of these three remaining categories will be announced in the Autumn.

The CWA Daggers Explained

The CWA (Crime Writers' Associations) Dagger Awards were started in 1955 and nine Daggers are awarded annually, though this figure can vary.

Diamond Dagger: Celebrates an author with an outstanding body of work in crime fiction.
Gold Dagger: Given for the best crime novel of the year.
Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: Given for best thriller of the year.
John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: Given for first books by previously unpublished writers.
International Dagger: Given for best translated crime novel of the year.
Dagger in the Library: Given to a "living author who has given the most pleasure to readers". Shortlist is drawn up from submissions by libraries across the UK, and the final decision is made by a panel of librarians.
Debut Dagger: Given for a novel not yet published commercially.

Add new comment