CWA Dagger Winners for 2016 Announced

Printer-friendly version

CWA logoA little behind on this one, as the winners were announced in London on the 11th October last. But never too late to bring your attention to the books making the news and winning the accolades. Should you be wondering, the CWA (Crime Writers’ Association) Daggers, awarded annually, celebrate the best in crime and thriller writing.

DodgersProbably the standout winner this year is first-time American novelist Bill Beverly who has won the Crime Writers’ Association’s Gold Dagger for the best crime novel of the year as well as the John Creasey New Blood Dagger for the best debut crime novel. One award is good, two is better! Well done him.

The Diamond Dagger, which some might deem the Crime Writers' Association's highest honour, and awarded for "a career's outstanding contribution to crime fiction", was actually announced last January and went to Peter James. James has written 28 novels and sold over 18 million books worldwide, and is best known for his series of crime books featuring Detective Superintendent Roy Grace.

Ireland's very own John Connolly, author of the Charlie Parker series, won the short story dagger for his rather long titled short story 'On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier'.

The Great SwindleHaving a particular interest in crime fiction in translation, it was interesting to note that Pierre Lemaitre, author of the Camille Verhœven series, won the International Dagger for 'The Great Swindle'. This is his third time winning the award, his book 'Alex' sharing the award in 2013 with  Fred Vargas's 'The Ghost Riders of Ordebec',  while his 'Camille' was the winning book in 2015. You may note too that 'The Great Swindle' is on the recently announced Dublin Literary Award longlist for 2017. And coincidentally, I am about to start reading this very same book!

Here is a list of the category winners with links to the library catalogue:

The Diamond Dagger - Peter James.
Goldsboro Gold – for the best crime novel of the year: Bill Beverly with Dodgers (Library Journal Review)
Ian Fleming Steel – for the best crime thriller of the year; Don Winslow with The Cartel
John Creasey New Blood – for the best debut crime novel; Bill Beverly with Dodgers
Endeavour Historical – for the best historical crime novel; David Young with Stasi Child
Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction – for non-fiction crime; Andrew Hankinson with You Could Do Something Amazing With Your Life [You Are Raoul Moat]
Short Story – for a short crime story published in the UK;  John Connolly with 'On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier' (from Nocturnes Volume 2: Night Music)
International – for crime fiction translated into English and published in the UK; Pierre Lemaître with The Great Swindle, translated by Frank Wynne
Dagger in the Library – for the author of the most enjoyed collection of work in libraries; Elly Griffiths
Debut Dagger sponsored by Orion Books – for the opening of a crime novel by a writer with no publishing contract at time of submission: Mark Brandi with Wimmera.

The CWA (Crime Writers' Associations) Dagger Awards were started in 1955 and nine Daggers are awarded annually, though this figure can vary.

Library Staff Take Note!

The Woman in BlueThe Crime Writers Association are looking for nominations for their 2017 Dagger in the Library award from library staff throughout Ireland and the UK. The award is for crime writers for their body of work (at least four novels) and all library staff are encouraged to nominate through the website.

Left: The Woman in Blue by Elly Griffiths, the 2016 Dagger in the Library winning author.

The Crime Writers Association’s Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire.  Only library staff can nominate an author for the prize and only library staff (aside from the previous winner) sit on the judging panel. The Dagger in the Library’s previous winners represent the very best of crime writing and The CWA have combined with The Reading Agency to make the 2017 prize an opportunity for libraries and, in particular, reading groups to engage with the longlisted and shortlisted authors. From January 2017 until the winner is announced at the end of June The Reading Agency’s website, Reading Groups for Everyone and The CWA Dagger Reads website will be hosting Reading Group material for novels by the longlisted and shortlisted authors and giving libraries across the UK and Ireland the opportunity to have crime writers come and visit.

Nominations must be in before December 31st. To find out more, download a poster to be displayed in your library, ask for a crime writer visit and to nominate your library’s favourite crime writer.

Add new comment