Winners of An Post Irish Book Awards announced

Printer-friendly version

anpostFirst awarded in 2006, the An Post Irish Book Awards showcase a diverse mix of exceptional writing from new and established writers across sixteen categories, with this year’s star-studded awards ceremony taking place in the Convention Centre Dublin. A host of Ireland’s leading writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities were all in attendance to see the winners claim their awards.

Below is the full list of winners for the ‘An Post Irish Book Awards 2019’ (with links to our catalogue):

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award
Overcoming – Vicky Phelan with Naomi Linehan (Hachette Books) – Championed by Ray D’Arcy

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year
Recovering – Richie Sadlier with Dion Fanning (Gill Books)

Avoca Cookbook of the Year
Cornucopia: The Green Cookbook – Tony Keogh, Aoife Carrigy, the Chefs of Cornucopia, Deirdre and Dairine McCafferty (Gill Books)

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
Cruel Acts – Jane Casey (HarperFiction)

Bookselling Ireland Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Constellations – Sinéad Gleeson (Picador), also available on Borrowbox, eBook and audio. Best Irish-Published Book of the Year
Children of the Troubles – Joe Duffy and Freya McClements (Hachette Books Ireland), also available on Borrowbox as eBook.

Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year
Tairngreacht – Proinsias Mac a’Bhaird (LeabhairComhar)

Dept51 @ Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year
Other Words for Smoke – Sarah Maria Griffin (Titan Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior
Shooting for the Stars – My Journey to Become Ireland’s First Astronaut – Norah Patten, illustrated by Jennifer Farley (The O’Brien Press)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior
123 Ireland! – Aoife Dooley (Little Island Books)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
When All is Said – Anne Griffin (Hodder & Stoughton)

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling – Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen (Gill Books)

Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year
Salt Rain – Audrey Molloy (Mslexia, September 2019) Short Story of the Year Award
Parrot – Nicole Flattery (The Stinging Fly, Issue 39, Volume 2, Winter 2018-19)

Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Barefoot Pilgrimage – Andrea Corr (HarperNonFiction) also available on Borrowbox as eBook.

Eason Novel of the Year
Shadowplay – Joseph O’Connor (Harvill Secker) also available on Borrowbox as eBook.

Joining the library is simple as ABC. There are no fines and you can use your card in any library in Ireland. Teenagers will need the signature of a parent or guardian when completing the membership form. Their parent or guardian will need to bring photo I.D. and proof of address.

BorrowBox is available from your local library, or as an app downloadable to your mobile device. All you need is an email address, your library barcode and a PIN number.  Kindle ereaders will only work with books purchased from Amazon. However, you can read BorrowBox books on a Kindle Fire tablet.

Add new comment