A Winning Night at Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards

Printer-friendly version

     Irish Book Awards  Ireland's 'glitterati' came out in force last night at the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Ceremony in the Concert Hall of the RDS. In a night when Seamus Heaney received the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by fellow poet Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland, it would be easier to say who wasn't there, than who was - even former US President Bill Clinton appeared in a pre-recorded tribute to 'one of the world's favourite poets'.

The Irish Book Award winners are voted on by the public and the various categories were hotly contested. All winning and shortlisted books are available to borrow from Dublin City Public Libraries. Winners on the night were;

Neil Jordan, for his novel Mistaken (Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year)

Belinda McKeown, for her novel Solace (Sunday Independent Best Irish Newcomer of the Year)

Sheila O'Flanagan, for her novel All for You (Easons Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year)

Alan Glynn, for his novel Bloodland (Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year)

Tim Robinson, for Connemara (International Education Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year)

Caitlyn Moran, for How to be a Woman (RTE John Murray Show Listener's Choice)

Rachel Allen, for Easy Meals (Argosy Irish Non-fiction Book of the Year)

Nicholas Roche, for Inside the Peloton (Irish Sports Book of the Year)

Chris Judge, for his picturebook The Lonely Beast (Specsavers Irish Children's Book of the Year: Junior)

Anna Carey, for her novel The Real Rebecca (Specsavers Irish Children's Book of the Year: Senior)

A full list of all the short listed titles is still available on the Irish Book Awards website.

Add new comment