Two Architecture Awards for Dublin City Council’s 14 Henrietta Street

We are delighted to announce that the Tenement Museum at 14 Henrietta Street was named Best Conservation and Restoration Project and Best overall project with a Special RIAI Jury Award at the annual Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) Architecture Awards.  

This project encompassed a ten year phased programme of works with Shaffrey Architects who were involved in the project from the outset:  In 2008 Dublin City Council initiated emergency stabilisation works to prevent the imminent collapse of No. 14 and No.3 Henrietta Street. This work was followed in 2011 by a project to reinstate 136 windows and doors that had been largely replaced by ones of inferior quality in the 1970s. With the support of a Centenaries Capital Grant from the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht in 2016, Dublin City Council appointed Shaffreys Architects for this third phase of this project.   Working on behalf of Dublin City Council and the Heritage Section, Shaffreys Architects led a multi-disciplinary design team to carefully conserve and adapt 14 Henrietta Street for this new cultural use.

Charles Duggan, Heritage Officer adopted a multi faceted approach to reveal the house’s rich and complex history ; New academic research  explores the social history of the house, a deepening understanding of the tenement life exists as shared by former residents and community who recalled and shared their memories of living in the tenements,  a curator was engaged to develop a curatorial strategy for the house and an Advisory Group was established to support and guide the process.    This is all reflected in the Special Jury Award where the Jury noted   “This is a gift to the city of Dublin made possible by an inspiring client and a highly skilled team of architects and contractor”.

Visitors will be able to see what impressed the judges when the building opens for advance tours on Fridays and Saturdays from 6th July until 8th September. Tickets (€9 adult / €6 concession) for the 90-minute tour should be booked in advance via  14 Henrietta Street will officially open to the public in September 2018.

This project was a collaborative endeavour and we would like to thank all those involved -

14 Henrietta Street Museum Project

Richard Shakespeare, Assistant Chief Executive

Paul Clegg, Executive Manager


Project Team

Charles Duggan, Heritage Officer, Dublin City Council

Dr Ellen Rowley, TMD Project Curator (Irish Research Council Enterprise Partnership Scheme Fellow)

Fiona Meade, Administrative Officer

Margaret Mooney, Staff Officer


Design Team:

Grainne Shaffrey, Shaffrey Associates Architects, Lead Architect

Eamonn Kehoe, Shaffrey Associates Architects

Tomás O’Connor, Shaffrey Associates Architects, Project Architect

Kevin McKevitt, Shaffrey Associates Architects

Stephen O’Connor, Darragh O’Rourke, Barrett Mahony Consulting Engineers

Edith Blennerhasset, Brian O’Reilly, XX, XX, ARUPS Engineers

Richard Mossop, DL Martin Quantity Surveyors

Luke Fagan, Maurice Johnson and Partners, Fire and Access


GEM Construction  

Tenement Museum Dublin Project Advisory Group

Paul Clegg, Dublin City Council Executive Manager (Chair)

Paraic Fallon, Senior Planner

Rose Kenny, Area Manager, DCC

Catriona Crowe, Author and Historian

Dr Jacinta Prunty, Department of History, Maynooth University

Professor Mike Cronin, Boston College Ireland

Dr Edward McParland, Fellow, Trinity College Dublin

Professor Hugh Campbell, School of Architecture Planning and the Environmental Policy

Beatrice Kelly, Heritage Council

Sheila Dooley, Dublinia

Brian Crowley, Irish Museums Association Chair, and Curator of Pearse Museum

Peter Brannigan, former resident of 14 Henrietta Street

Sean Alyward, Under Treasurer King’s Inns

Academic Researchers:

Dr Brian Hanly

Dr Melanie Hayes

Dr Timothy Murtagh

Dr Ciaran McCabe (Irish Research Council Fellow)

Colette Lord

Theo Honohan


Gertie Keane (2013)

Joanna Carty (2015)

Nico Ferguson (2016)

Jordana Starkman (2017)

Hallie Frenzel (2018)