Community Development

Printer-friendly version

The life of the city is in its people and the communities they create. In tandem with the physical development of the city, the social infrastructure requires support and enablement in order for the city and its residents to thrive. Dublin’s City Council Community Development Service was established in 1973 to work with communities throughout the city, and provides a range a supports including advocacy, advisement, project management, grant aid and other resources, to assist  our people  to  fully take part in all aspects of city life.

Community Officers for the South Central Area:

Ballyfermot

Pat Teehan: T: 01 - 222 4664 E: pat.teehan@dublincity.ie

Helen Burke: T: 01 - 222 4663 E: helen.burke@dublincity.ie

Mary Noonan: T: 01 - 222 4662 E: mary.noonan@dublincity.ie

Liberties, Rialto and Coombe Area

Margaret Quinn: T:01- 222 5114  E: margaret.quinn@dublincity.ie

Mary Lynch : T: 01- 222-5104 E: mary.lynch@dublincity.ie

Bluebell, Inchicore and Kilmainham Area

Fran O’Shea: T: 01-222-5251 E: fran.oshea@dublincity.ie

Crumlin

Miriam Flynn: T: 01 - 222 5514 E: miriam.flynn@dublincity.ie

Tom Scott: T: 01 - 222 5504 E: tom.scott@dublincity.ie

What services do we provide locally?

On a daily basis the Liberties Community Development Team:

  • Supports existing community groups in their objectives
  • Provides advocacy, advisement and small-scale financial support  for new groups
  • Assists community groups in identifying appropriate funding 
  • Networks with local statutory and voluntary agencies in the Area
  • Supports local activities organised by resident groups including clean ups, fun days, summer activities etc.

What events and activities are we involved in?

The Community Development Team also works closely with the community to organise and promote events and activities throughout the year including:

  • Intercultural events
  • International Women’s Day
  • Summer Projects & Activities
  • Senior Citizens Celebrations
  • Let’s Walk & Talk
  • Seachtain na Gaeilge
  • Bloomsday
  • Bealtaine
  • Neighbours’ Day
  • Environmental Projects
  • Comhairle na nÓg (Youth Council)
  • Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremonies

For more information

For more information
Community Development Section, Dublin City Council,
Eblana House,
Marrowbane Lane,
Dublin 8
01-222-3536

Feedback