Waste Enforcement Regional Lead Authorities (WERLAs)

The three Waste Enforcement Regional Lead Authorities (WERLAs) for the Southern, Eastern and Midlands, and Connacht/Ulster Regions are Cork County Council, Dublin City Council and Leitrim & Donegal County Councils (combined) respectively.

The WERLAs have responsibility for coordinating waste enforcement actions within regions, setting priorities and common objectives for waste enforcement, ensuring consistent enforcement of waste legislation across the three existing waste management planning regions.

While local authority personnel will continue to be 'first responders' on the ground and to specific breaches of waste legislation, the WERLAs will facilitate more streamlining of the tasks currently undertaken in the waste enforcement area.

For further information, please visit http://www.werla.ie/

WERLA Business Case
WERLA-R-5582 - Report to CCMA
Contact Details

National TFS

Telephone Number