The Red Stables
The Red Stables in St Anne's Park were commissioned by Arthur Edward Guinness, Lord Ardilaun in 1885.
They were designed by George Ashlin, an architect renowned for his work on religious buildings, like Cobh Cathedral.
The Stables are in the Victorian Sussex style, laid out in a courtyard format, with the stabling on the south-east and south-west sides of the courtyard, and the coach house area on the north-eastern side of the courtyard. The Stables got their name from the Portmarnock red brick they were made from.
The building is now a protected structure because of its unique and significant historic and architectural merit. It has been lovingly restored and refurbished by Dublin City Council.
Refurbishment works to the existing building included replacing damaged materials, overhauling existing fittings as required and using new materials (that matched original materials as closely as possible) only where absolutely necessary. The new build kitchen and tearoom area has been designed to fit in with the existing building.
The Red Stables were opened to the public in June 2006. They now house an arts and crafts centre with work spaces for artists and a gallery. The studios have open days twice a year where you can meet the artists and view their work.
The Red Stables are also home to Olive's Room, a seomra tae (tearoom) with indoor and outdoor seating that serves breakfast, lunch and a variety of tasty snacks. With pastries, cakes, sandwiches, salads, hot drinks, ice cream and more there's something to keep everyone happy.