Area-Specific Plans

Dublin City Council will prepare area-specific guidance for the strategic development and regeneration areas (SDRAs) and key district centres, using the appropriate mechanisms of local area plans (LAPs) and schematic masterplans and local environmental improvement plans (LEIPs). LAPs will be prepared for areas subject to large-scale development within the lifetime of this plan. A schedule of statutory local area plans is set out below, having regard to the core strategy, and in particular the need to promote the inner city and the SDRAs, all of which lie within the metropolitan area (see Table F). The rationale for selection of these plan areas also has regard to the national guidance that LAPs are particularly suited to areas undergoing significant development (Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government (DoEHLG) guidelines on Sustainable Residential Development, 2007).

Two strategic development zone (SDZ) planning schemes – one for Grangegorman and one for North Lotts and Grand Canal Dock have been put in place. Local area plans have been adopted for the Liberties, Naas Road, George’s Quay, Ashtown/ Pelletstown, and North Fringe (Clongriffin– Belmayne). The life of the Liberties LAP has been extended, whilst a new LAP for Ballymun is being prepared. The preparation of LAPs in a complex city environment has proven to take up considerably more resources and time than was envisaged when the 2011 – 2017 development plan was being prepared.

A number of local environmental improvement plans or village improvement plans, or other appropriate plans will be prepared in conjunction with the local area committee, in so far as priorities and resources permit, with the objective of preparing up to 3 LEIPs for each area from the following list:

  • Artane
  • Ballyfermot
  • Bluebell
  • Cabra
  • Camden St/Wexford St/Redmond’s Hill/Aungier St and Georges St area
  • Clontarf
  • Crumlin
  • Donnycarney
  • Donnycarney, including Malahide Rd and Collins Avenue
  • Dolphin’s Barn
  • Drimnagh
  • Drumcondra Village
  • East Wall Area
  • Finglas
  • Glasnevin
  • Gracepark Area
  • Inchicore/St Michael’s/Kilmainham
  • Irishtown
  • Killester Village
  • Liffey Quays
  • Little Camden
  • Navan Road
  • North Strand
  • North Strand – North Strand/ Ballybough/Clonliffe
  • Phibsborough
  • Ringsend
  • Sheriff Street/North Wall
  • Stoneybatter
  • Terenure
  • Walkinstown
  • Whitehall

Also, schematic masterplans will be prepared for the linear parks proposed along the length of the Dodder and Tolka rivers.

Objectives set out in the various plans should have regard to likely available resources and investment, whether from public or private sources

Table F